US Unconventional CPI

US Unconventional CPI
Friday, September 11, 2020
Most of the alternate gauges show the Fed has done an even better job than we thought at forestalling deflation. Time will tell -- too good a job?
US Unconventional CPI
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Any unconventional measure that has been updated for July will tell you the same thing: we had a depression, but not a deflation.
US Unconventional CPI
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
More than ever, you can pick from among the diverse universe of alternate inflation measures to tell whatever story you wanted to tell before you looked at the data!
US Unconventional CPI
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Further evidence that we've seen the worst, and that deflation is decelerating.
US Unconventional CPI
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
The unconventional measures are the same as the conventional ones now -- all point to a virus-driven price collapse.
US Unconventional CPI
Friday, April 10, 2020
The unconventional indices show the same thing for March -- prices sharply lower.
US Unconventional CPI
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Our 15 nonstandard inflation gauges are telling 15 contradictory stories. Luckily the subject won't come up at next week's FOMC.
US Unconventional CPI
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Powell's fallback Trimmed-Mean PCE gives him his precious 2% YOY, but only 1.6% on the month.
US Unconventional CPI
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Without seasonal adjustments, CPI showed deflation in December.
US Unconventional CPI
Wednesday, December 11, 2019
If nothing else, this panoply of conflicting inflation gauges proves that no one even knows what inflation is.

Pages