Donald L. Luskin

Death by China on the Way to Yes
Monday, December 17, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
China is surrendering because it is under pressure. It can hold together until a deal is done.
On the November Jobs Report
Friday, December 7, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
Powell says the labor market is “very strong.” Based on this report. It’s not even strong.
The Yield Curve: The World’s Worst Indicator, But…
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
The good news: Powell may or may not listen to Trump. He does listen to the yield curve.
On the US/China Trade Breakthrough
Sunday, December 2, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
This is the all-clear signal. Both nations made concessions, both saved face.
Trump 1, Powell 0
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
Trump and Mr. Market have ganged up on our rookie chair. He recants his hawkish gaffe.
Recession Risk at Last?
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
Here we go again. China and oil trigger an earnings decline and credit-spread breakout.
OPEC's Gifts to Trump
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Michael Warren and Donald Luskin
Production limits are coming. They'll support prices and transfer market share to the US.
On the November FOMC
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
Noted: business fixed investment has slowed down. Perversely, this could mean tightening.
On the Mid-Term Elections
Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
A major risk-event has passed. The animal spirits of growth live, in the Senate at least.
On the October Jobs Report
Friday, November 2, 2018
Donald L. Luskin
For the mid-terms, an October surprise in November. Yuge payroll beat, storms or no storms.

Pages