Donald L. Luskin

What you're not hearing about Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez and Jerome Powell
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
AOC masterfully gets Powell to admit that the Fed's most cherished axiom is dead wrong.
What you're not hearing about Trump's nomination of Judy Shelton for the Fed
Monday, July 8, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
If Trump is so dovish, why does he keep nominating hawks?
On the June Jobs Report
Friday, July 5, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
Reassuring, but too good to be entirely true. Nothing in it will put the Fed off its dovish course.
On the Trump/Xi Osaka Meeting
Saturday, June 29, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
The two preconditions for a deal are now met: pressure is higher and the sides are talking.
Quick Thoughts on the Road to Osaka
Thursday, June 27, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
Trump and Xi come in maximum threat postures, but hints of compromises and off-ramps.
On the June FOMC
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
No surprises, no gaffes. Powell is developing a “blame Trump” story that points to cuts.
What you're not hearing about the US/China trade war after Trump's Mexico tariff gambit
Friday, June 14, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
Tariffs got Mexico to agree to pay for the wall. That will drive China back to the negotiating table.
What you're not hearing about Trump's tariff gambit with Mexico
Sunday, June 9, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
Just two simple words: it worked. We were told all last week it couldn't possibly.
On the May Jobs Report
Friday, June 7, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
After revisions, payroll growth was a big fat zero. But that doesn’t have to mean recession.
Trump Wants to Cut Interest Rates. Powell Should Do It Anyway.
Tuesday, June 4, 2019
Donald L. Luskin
The chairman made the case last year for easing if the yield curve inverts—as it did in March.

Pages